Call for nominations for election of officers 2003



To all

members of the IAG Council,

IAG officers,

IAG Fellows,

IAG members

May 17, 2002

Dear colleagues,

You are most likely aware of the fact that the IAG Council in its meeting last year in Budapest has adopted new Statutes and By-laws. A major change in the By-laws is that the elections are taking place by mail ballot before the General Assembly. This will result in a less crowded meeting schedule for the IAG Executive at the General Assembly and in a much smoother transition between the old and the new Executive. The Council also decided to do the first mail ballot election before the next General Assembly in Sapporo in 2003. This means that all officers for the period 2003 to 2007 will be elected in this way.

Another important change in the election procedure is the nomination of at least two candidates for each position. This will make the process more democratic and the Nominating Committee encourages you to take an active part in proposing suitable candidates for all or some of the positions. The Nominating Committee consists of Denizar Blitzkow (Brazil), Martine Feissel (France), Chris Rizos (Australia), and Klaus-Peter Schwarz (chair, Canada). It has prepared the Call for Nominations, which is attached to this letter. If you need additional information, please contact any member of the committee.

We are looking forward to your active participation. Cordially,





Klaus-Peter Schwarz

For the IAG Nominating Committee



IAG officers have to be elected to the positions listed in paragraph 5.4.2 of the new IAG Statutes. The election procedure for IAG officers is described in paragraph 2.8 of the new IAG By-laws. For details check: under Miscellaneous.

For which positions are nominations required?

Nominations are required for the positions of President, Vice-President, Secretary General, Commission Presidents (4), representatives of the Services (3), members at large (2), and the President of the Communication and Outreach Branch.

Who may submit candidates for nomination?

Nominations for all positions, except the three Service representatives, can be submitted by the adhering bodies of the member countries, the officers of the Association, IAG fellows, and IAG members, as defined in paragraph 2.1 of the By-laws. Nominations for the three positions of Service representative are submitted by the Services (one candidate per Service). A nomination form is attached to this Call.

What is required of the candidates?

Candidates must submit a signed letter, signifying their acceptance of the nomination, and must prepare a resume (maximum of 150 words) outlining their position, research interests and activities relating to the IAG.

Candidates for the positions of Secretary General and President of the Communication and Outreach Branch must also submit a letter of their employer, stating the institutional support available to the candidate if elected.

What are the deadlines for submissions?

The first deadline is November 10, 2002.From the submissions received, the Nominating Committee will select at least two of the proposed candidates for each position, taking into account factors, such as the strength of the support, geographical distribution, and areas of expertise. By December 15, 2002, a document containing these names will be sent to the adhering bodies of the member countries, the officers of the Association, and the IAG fellows and members who have participated in the nomination process.

The second deadline is January 15, 2003. By this date, new nominations for each office will be added to the ballot if they are supported by at least two members of the Council. The candidates must satisfy the requirements outlined above.

What is the deadline for the mail ballot?

The final list of nominees will be distributed to the Council members by February 1, 2003.

The last day for receiving signed ballots by fax or mail is March 15, 2003.

The result of the elections will be announced by March 31, 2003.

To whom should nominations be submitted?

The nominations should be submitted to the chair of the IAG Nominating Committee

Dr. Klaus-Peter Schwarz


Fax: 1-403-284-1980

Phone: 1-403-241-3434

Mail address: K.P. Schwarz, University of Calgary, Department of Geomatics Engineering

Calgary, Alberta, Canada T2N 1N4

Who can be approached for further information?

All members of the Nominating Committee. They are:

Denizar Blitzkow

Martine Feissel

Chris Rizos

Klaus-Peter Schwarz